Ekphrastic 2.0: A collaborative storytelling experiment

a mixed-media drawing and storytelling extravaganza!

at Soo Visual Arts Center

Ekphrastic (2016) finished collaboration. Photo © 2016 Rik Sferra.

Ekphrastic (2016) finished collaboration. Photo © 2016 Rik Sferra.

July 19–August 27, 2017

I'm excited to announce that, for the second year in a row, I will facilitate a collaborative drawing and poetry project at SooVAC!

This year's iteration—EKPHRASTIC 2.0— features over three dozen artists, who will visit the gallery over five weeks to add to a massive, exquisite corpse-style drawing. Each week will feature a new, open-ended prompt for the artists to consider (or ignore) —all variations on the idea of DYSTOPIA.

After the drawing is completed, five (or more) writers will visit the gallery to create written responses and interpretations. (Ekphrasis=the interpretation of one art form through another art form.) The results will then be compiled into a publication, featuring the drawings and the writings together, which will be available in the fall!

You're invited to come and see the drawing in progress anytime between July 19 and August 27.  And be sure to stop back in the fall, for a book release and reading! (Stay tuned for the date and time.)

If you are in the Twin Cities this summer, I hope you will stop by to view this exciting collaborative work in progress. If you can't make it, you can still watch the narrative unfold on Instagram by following me or SooVAC!

Soo Visual Arts Center
2909 Bryant Avenue South, Suite 101, Minneapolis 55408
Gallery Hours
Wed 11am-5pm, Thu-Fri 11am-7pm, Sat-Sun 11am-4pm.

This project is funded in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Kelly Abeln
Jaime Anderson
Kai Arnone
Alyssa Baguss
Taylor Baldry
Erik Benson
Michael Carina
Melissa Cooke
Jennifer Davis
Jim Denomie
Andy DuCett
Julia Eshaghpour
Christi Furnas
Ruthann Godollei
Paige Guggemos
Christopher Harrison
Sherry Muyuan He
Sophia Heymans
Sophia Hill
Larassa Kabel
Kathranne Knight
Ann E. Lawton
David Lefkowitz
Erik Lervold
Niky Motekallem
Terrence Payne
Alex M. Petersen
Rachel Poli
Jenny Schmid
Caitlin Skaalrud
Alanna Stapleton
Andy Sturdevant
Tessa Sutton
Carolyn Swiszcz
Jade Townsend
Haruna Ujo
Megan Vossler
Chris Willcox

Jim Cihlar
Michael Kleber-Diggs
Anna George Meek
William Reichard
Elizabeth Tannen